High-energy astrophysics in the multi-messenger era

Auditório Prof. Sérgio Mascarenhas (IFSC/USP)

Auditório Prof. Sérgio Mascarenhas


Stefan Funk (ECAP), Vitor de Souza (IFSC-USP)

The Astroparticle Physics groups of the FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg and the São Carlos Institute of Physics – University of São Paulo are organizing two workshops in multi-messenger high energy astrophysics. The workshops are jointly funded by the Bavarian Academic Center for Latin America (BAYLAT) and the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP).

The first edition of the workshop happened in May 8-12 2023 in Erlangen, Germany with an open atmosphere, with selected keynote and contributed talks, and in particular with ample time for interactions and discussions, including networking and speed collaboration sessions which focus on starting future collaborations. 

The second edition of the workshop will happen in São Carlos, Brazil repeating the positive experience we had in Erlangen and concluding some of the collaborations started there.

Main topics:

  • High-energy astroparticle physics
  • Multi-messenger astronomy
  • Instruments and Data analysis
  • Future directions of the field


Target participants:

The programme is in particular targeting participation of young scientists (Postdocs and final-year PhD students) from higher education or research institutions from the State of São Paulo and from the Free State of Bavaria.

All participants of the first edition are expected to participate in the second edition. Some new participants might be selected by the coordination group based on consistency of the application with the overall theme of the workshop. To strengthen diversity, we will pay particular attention and actively encourage application by under-represented groups.

Coordination group:

  • Stefan Funk
  • Vitor de Souza
  • Aion Viana
  • Edivaldo Moura Santos
  • Christopher van Eldik
  • Alison Mitchell
  • David Berge
  • Jim Hinton
  • Carola Dobrigkeit Chinellato
  • Farinaldo da Silva Queiroz
  • Manuela Vecchi
  • Alison Mitchell
  • Ana Vitória Braga
  • Benedetta Bruno
  • Christopher van Eldik
  • Cibelle Celestino Silva
  • Clarissa Siqueira
  • Edivaldo Moura Santos
  • Eduardo Rabelo
  • Florian Eppel
  • Franziska Leitl
  • Jelena Celic
  • Jonas Glombitza
  • João Oliveira
  • Júlia Gouvêa Mamprim
  • Katrin Streil
  • Leonardo Maia
  • Luan Orion Baraúna
  • Luana Passos Reis
  • Lucas Marcelo de Sá
  • Lívia Rocha
  • Maria Vithória Oliveira
  • Martin Schneider
  • Matheus Sanches
  • Mayara Hilgert Pacheco
  • Micael Andrade
  • Rodrigo Guedes Lang
  • Sarah Wagner
  • Sjoerd Bouma
  • Stefan Funk
  • Tania Torrejón
  • Tim Unbehaun
  • Tina Wach
  • Victor Costa